Designed in 1907, with additions in 1909, 1912 and 1929, the two-acre Horse Barn contains 398 box stalls and 53 tie areas for horses. Brick and stone decorate its surfaces. A raised center area is flanked by shed roofs on the north and south with rhythmic gabled ventilators.
After enduring several decades of harsh Iowa weather, the brick and mortar building was in need of restoration. The first phase of renovations included the replacement of the roof, and in 2002, the main east entrance had a facelift including brick repair and the replacement of the second story window.
In 2010, the Richard O. Jacobson Exhibition Center project, located just west of the Horse Barn, constituted some additional construction to the Horse Barn. The finished project consists of a warm up arena connecting the original Horse Barn with the new Exhibition Center, which makes it a valuable venue for year round shows and events.