Iowans selected for Iowan of the Day award at 2023 Iowa State Fair

August 1, 2023
Intern's picture

The Iowa State Fair Blue Ribbon Foundation and Cookies Food Products are pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the Iowan of the Day award at the 2023 Iowa State Fair.

The Iowan of the Day program was created by the Blue Ribbon Foundation in 1997 to honor outstanding Iowans who have made a difference across our great state. Among many nominations, our committee selected ten Iowans who have demonstrated exceptional integrity, Iowa pride, hard work, and dedication to their communities. 

Each winner will have a special day of honor at the 2023 Iowa State Fair. Each day at noon on the Anne and Bill Riley Stage they will be recognized and presented as an Iowan of the Day. Along with accommodations at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown, each will receive a cash prize, Grandstand and Iowa State Fair admission tickets, use of the Iowan of the Day golf cart, and VIP parking on the Fairgrounds.

The 2023 Iowan of the Day recipients are:

Arilyan Steenblock of Panora – Thursday, August 10

LaVerne Quass of Ankeny – Friday, August 11

Nelda Bartels of Lytton – Saturday, August 12

John Keeney of Carlisle – Sunday, August 13

De Heaton of Corning– Monday, August 14

Emma Miller of Goodell – Tuesday, August 15

Ron Stutsman of Riverside– Wednesday, August 16

Arleen Starman of Burlington – Thursday, August 17

Bev Michael of Cedar Falls – Friday, August 18

Elsie Van Beek of Maurice – Saturday, August 19

Since its inception in 1993, the Blue Ribbon Foundation has been raising funds to renovate and restore the historic Iowa State Fairgrounds. More than $200 million has been generated to date and has supported more than 40 projects throughout the Fairgrounds.

The Iowa State Fair Blue Ribbon Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. For more information, please contact the Foundation at 515-262-3111, or visit .

Macy Loecke-Public Relations Intern